Submit your team names here

So we’re a month into the 2009 major league baseball season.

My team, the Atlanta Braves, is two games under .500 and fourth in the National League East so far. Meanwhile my husband’s team, the Boston Red Sox, is six games over .500 and is in second place in the American League East. (The Sox, much as I like them, too, are also a team with a much larger payroll, I might add.)

My fantasy baseball team is not performing so well right now, either. But that’s mostly my fault–and a result of unintentional neglect. I pledge to do better. But I think my team needs a shot of adrenaline to start moving up the ranks.

And my team definitely needs a new name. Right now, it’s got the most generic name ever: Team Larson. Yawn. Several years ago, I hit upon a wonderful name for my team: the Desert Housewives. It was perfect. I lived in the desert, and the television show “Desperate Housewives” had just made a huge splash. And it was so much fun to nod sagely when someone mentioned Grady Sizemore or whomever and be able to say, “Yeah, he’s a Housewife this year.” Unfortunately, it’s not nearly as cute a name, now that I live in a place where I can squoosh around in two inches of rainfall in my front yard.

Please submit your suggestions for my fantasy baseball team! I am a little, er, desperate. I can’t promise any great awards for a winning team name, but I will thoughfully consider all serious submissions.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Baseball and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment