U-T lets its people go…and the Chronicle…and…

And yet more bad news from the newspaper world made the headlines today.

Guess we shouldn’t be surprised. On the heels of getting new ownership, the San Diego Union-Tribune is cutting 192 positions.

They haven’t said yet what newsroom positions will be eliminated. I hope none of the people I know who are still there are directly affected.

The San Francisco Chronicle is letting people go. The San Francisco Business Times reports that the Chronicle began laying off editorial employees yesterday.

Am I forgetting anybody?

Ah yes. And who knows what’s going to happen to the Boston Globe. The owner is threatening to shut the venerable paper down altogether. And today, Globe publisher, Steven Ainsley, predicted job cuts, of course. Yeah, if your whole paper is in jeopardy, I’d think layoffs are pretty likely.

Why did I decide to go into this field again? Was it the possibility for an endless upward career trajectory? Because if it was, 22-year-old me really should have re-evaluated. Well, at least as a freelancer, I can’t get laid off. I might not get new assignments, true, but at least I won’t have to clean out my desk and take home all my belongings in a white copy paper box.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Economy, Freelancing, Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to U-T lets its people go…and the Chronicle…and…

  1. sunehra says:

    This field is so scary right now. I’ve been working in it for about two years now and I wonder everyday if I should pick something different while I still have the time or stick it out.

Leave a Reply

