Presidents Day Anecdote

In honor of Presidents Day, I wanted to retell one of my favorite anecdotes.

When I was pregnant with my older son William in 2006, I was working as a reporter for The Desert Sun in Palm Springs. One morning, I covered an event at the big hospital in Rancho Mirage for high school students who were shadowing hospital employees for an internship-type program.

Given my third-trimester pregnancy state, I was moving a little more slowly than usual. So afterward, I was one of the last people to leave. As I walked out the door of the hospital alone, a genial-looking elderly gentleman walked toward me. He nodded, said “Good morning,” and passed by me, walking up the wide steps into the hospital. I smiled and nodded in return and kept walking.

A few steps later, I realized why he looked familiar. It was Gerald Ford.

(And it really was. We confirmed it. Because of course, I immediately went back to the newsroom and exclaimed, “I just saw Gerald Ford at the hospital!” And one of my colleagues called the former president’s spokesperson to see what was going on. Sure enough, he was going in for some tests. He was fine, at least for then.)

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

