It’s getting hot in here

Wow. It’s 107 degrees here right now in the Music City…and it was actually a little hotter than that earlier.

I’m having flashbacks to what it was like living in the desert, where it stayed above 110 for weeks on end. “But it’s a dry heat,” someone would always say when the triple-digit temperature was mentioned. Folks, I’m here to tell you that after it gets to be about 115 or so, it doesn’t really matter if it’s humid or not. It’s HOT. It’s awful. You feel like beef jerky. You begin to resemble beef jerky a little bit, too.

At any rate, I keep thinking of things I want or need to do–and then rejecting them. For example, I was thinking that my son and I would make cupcakes today after day camp. But that would require turning on the oven, which would heat up my kitchen. Pass. Okay, what about splashing in the baby pool or the water table on the patio? Hmmm, that requires being outside under the sun. Nope. What about going to the playground? Obviously not. The shady (sort of) greenway in the park a couple of miles away? Even in the shade, the heat is formidable. The outdoor concert series at the local park? Cancelled. 

Guess we’ll just stay inside and eat popsicles and watch TV. The weather’s making us do it! Who are we to resist?

 

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s getting hot in here

  1. weight loss says:

    I do believe all of the ideas you have presented on your post.
    They are very convincing and will certainly work. Still,
    the posts are too brief for novices. May just you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

