The Winter Blahs

Well, here we are. In January.

Normally,it’s cold, it’s gray, it’s gloomy right about now. Except this year. With the exception of, well, today, we’ve had this weird, glorious spate of beautiful sunny early January days. It’s been unseasonably…nice.

Now. I will admit something. I actually don’t mind having some cold, gray, yucky days in January. When I lived in California, we didn’t get a lot of weather like that, and absence made the heart grow fonder. I once overheard a woman compare the weather in San Diego to a person who smiles all the time. In theory, that sounds great, doesn’t it? In reality, it is nice….for awhile. Then it gets a little annoying. You find yourself wishing for a gloomy day so you can justify a nice cozy day on the couch, with no feelings of guilt over not going for a run or doing something healthy and wholesome and virtuous. When it’s 72 and sunny, you feel like you ought to be out there, even if you really really really don’t want to be.

But when you have a long long string of more typical winter weather—the damp frigid kind, I mean–those start to get tiresome, too. But usually I don’t get tired of that until at least February. The novelty starts to wear off around Valentine’s Day, and by March, it’s downright unwelcome. My perpetually cold toes start wearing holes in my warmest socks because I’ve worn them so often, and yet when I go to the mall, all the stores are selling bathing suits and tank tops.

So a few sparkling days in early January were maybe not quite as glee-inducing as they would be a few weeks from now. But you know what? I’ll still take them. The mid-winter blahs are still ahead. Might as well store up some Vitamin D while I can.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

