This has been quite a month…

I hope you have been having a marvelous holiday season. We celebrate Christmas at my house, but I am lucky to have friends and colleagues from many religious and cultural traditions. I wish you all the best!

This has been quite the whirlwind month at my house. Today is the first day in I don’t know how long that I’m just getting the chance to sit down and breathe. 

Not that I’m not working. I am. I was fortunate this year to score more writing/editing work than usual for December, and for that, I am extremely grateful. 

In fact, I am writing today. I recently landed some assignments for the website of a consumer health and lifestyle magazine, and I’m really excited about that opportunity. I’m finishing up two assignments for the editor today, and I’ll submit them tomorrow. I made sure to get as much done before Christmas as possible, as I knew that there would be exactly zero time to sneak off and work during the weekend of Christmas. Not that I’d want to be working on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day anyway. There was just so much going on. Although I’ll admit there were times during the weekend when it would have probably been more relaxing to sit down and write than it would have been to, oh, wrap presents or figure out where all the stocking stuffers disappeared to.

I’ve got another assignment for a health magazine from a new client, and I’m really excited about that, too. That’s due next week, so I’m just getting started.

I’m so lucky to have all these new people taking a chance on me. I really am. There have been several years when I’ve spent a good chunk of December wishing I had managed to land more work because the holiday bills start rolling in when January arrives. It was good to be busy this year.

Let’s hope it continues in 2012!

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
Aside | This entry was posted in Family, Freelancing, Holiday, Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

