Why I’m grateful to be a writer

I just got an email from Writer’s Digest that was titled something to the effect of “Why We’re Grateful We’re Writers.”

I snickered for a moment, thinking of all the jokes that could be made about underpaid, underappreciated, starving writers, etc. etc. 

But am I grateful I’m a writer? Seriously, yes. I like what I do. I like writing. I get to do something for a living that I actually enjoy. I really don’t get tired of writing, at least not on a macro level. Sometimes I get tired of writing about specific things, but I never get tired of writing.

And I never seriously consider giving up writing and taking up something else, like…I don’t know. Accounting. In fact, I turned down admission to several prestigious law schools about ten or 12 years ago because I wanted to remain a writer. And here I am. 

 

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’m grateful to be a writer

  1. abbyotr says:

    I agree with you, though I do go through occasional bouts of “why bother” when the paychecks and blog comments dry up. But I really don’t know what else I would, or could, do. Guess I’m stuck being a writer!

Leave a Reply

