My sandwiches definitely don’t smile

I am so happy to announce that a column I wrote was posted on Babble’s website last week!

Is that Sandwich Smiling at Me? is my manifesto about the value of simple lunches for children.

Essentially, I was constantly getting frustrated by a stream of articles and blog posts that featured fun little culinary projects designed to, as paraphrased from my column, increase your child’s recommended daily intake of whimsy. It’s not that I don’t think those little sandwiches with faces and bodies aren’t cute. They are cute. I just think it’s crazy for a parent to attempt that level of food preparation to provide the contents of their kids’ lunchboxes.

Pack your child a nice basic sandwich with some fruit for lunch. Leave the decorating for the holiday cookies or the birthday party. Or at least for an occasion where you can keep the final product at home to admire and photograph, rather than encasing it in plastic and schlepping it off to sit in your child’s locker for five hours.

That’s how I see it. You certainly don’t have to agree. I’m all magnanimous like that.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Freelancing, Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My sandwiches definitely don’t smile

  1. Sherree says:

    Thanks for a great blogpost, Jennifer. Likewise, I question these recipies and TV food commercials designed to “fool” your kid into eating healthier by camoflaging the fruits and vegetables. What’s that about?

  2. Abby says:

    How did I miss this? YES, I completely agree!!! I have that same exact thought every time I get a new issue of Parenting magazine w/ the ridiculous food sculptures and recipes. Who has TIME for that?!

Leave a Reply

