I haz iPad

At last! I haz iPad!

My husband has been dreaming of buying an iPad2 ever since they came out. When he bought his original iPad last year, he made a critical mistake and only bought a 16 gig version. Why is that a problem? Well, it’s not…for me. But he loves to download and watch episodes of “Doctor Who,” and he discovered that he quickly ran out of space. I’d hear him grumbling about having to delete this or that, and then having to add it back in later, blah blah y blah.

Please note that I had originally encouraged him to at least buy a 32 gig version when he made his purchase, since what difference does a hundred bucks make at that point, when you’re buying a glorified toy anyway? He retorted, with great dignity, that he was trying to be responsible by not spending as much money. Uh huh. And look where it got him.

Well, actually, look where it got me. Over Tax-Free Weekend this past weekend here in Tennessee, he broke down and shelled out for a new iPad2. He walked in and proudly handed me his old iPad, which he has kept in excellent shape. Then he scampered off to watch “Doctor Who.”

So now I have a toy of my own. I’ve already gone online to reserve some e-books from the local public library, and I’ve discovered how much easier it is to read an iPad in bed than it is to read the tiny little screen of my iPhone.

But you know, as much as I’m enjoying my new…old…new-to-me toy, I can still say that I won’t be forsaking real books anytime soon. There’s just something comforting about curling up in bed with a good novel that appeals to me on a visceral level that has nothing to do with the story contained within the pages. I just like paper. I like the way it feels between my fingers. I like propping a book open, with its pages splayed, on the bed next to me when I take a nap. I like actually turning the pages.

That’s not to say that I don’t see the many advantages of having an iPad. I do. And I’m grateful for it. But I still love my books just a little bit more.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I haz iPad

  1. Abby says:

    I hear ya. I’m a paper girl, too. My husband looooves his iPad and it’s growing on me (a little) but I don’t see myself forsaking books anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

