Back from the beach

Here’s what I did last week.

Andrew at the beach

That’s my younger son on the walkway to the beach. My family went to Pensacola Beach last week, and oh, it was glorious. We had a jellyfish scare the first day, but luckily, they disappeared soon. We spent the rest of the week at the beach and the nearby pool, playing and splashing and hoping that we’d slathered enough super-potent sunscreen on our blindingly-white skin.

But this week, it’s back to work! In fact, I’ve been sitting here at my computer for over an hour, even though it’s a holiday. Got to catch up on stuff. Hope you have a lovely Independence Day! (And don’t worry. I’m planning to power through this stuff so I can spend more of the day with my family. My older son remarked last week that he enjoyed having my undivided attention, when I “didn’t have to work on stories and interviews and stuff.” I reminded him that my work pays for fun things like day camp and fruit snacks and not-so-fun things like clothes and shoes, and he agreed but still said it was nice to have time with Mommy while she wasn’t working on anything. And I totally agree.)

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Freelancing, Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back from the beach

  1. Abby says:

    “I reminded him that my work pays for fun things like day camp and fruit snacks and not-so-fun things like clothes and shoes” Ha! I do the exact same thing with my son. At his age, I’m sure he could care less but it’s important to me that he gets the message about why I work!

  2. A.L.Sugden says:

    Ooooh, I knew that was P-cola’s sweet sandy shore. How was it? Man I miss that beach. Darling boy, btw!

Leave a Reply

