Summertime, summertime, sum sum summertime

So, it’s summer.

Summer has arrived, with all its ferocity, in the Music City a little quicker than I thought it would, actually. Two weeks ago, it was 50 degrees at 10 a.m. I sent my young son to the last day of preschool in long pants and a jacket. Today, it’s in the 90s. I cranked the air in the minivan as high as it would go, and yet my legs still stuck to the seat.

I’m not yet grumpy about summer, though. It’s early. The heat is still a novelty. I haven’t yet gotten weary of dousing my whole family in SPF 1000 and insect repellant every time we set foot outdoors. I’m still excited about being able to fit into all my cute little pre-pregnancy sundresses from two years ago (hello, darling little Anthropologie dress! How I’ve missed you!) I just ordered a new bathing suit online. I’m still eagerly looking forward to getting a few tomatoes from my tomato plants (please, God, please).I’m anticipating the big ice cream cranking festival that’s held here in Nashville each June as a fundraiser for a local charity. We haven’t lost any pool toys yet. Heck, I haven’t even seen any lightning bugs in the yard yet.

I’ll be singing a different tune in another month or so, of course. After awhile, I’ll get tired of hauling my kids in and out of the hot car. I’ll be tired of the heat and the humidity and the way that the ice cream melts the second I put my grocery bags in the trunk. I’ll be tired of the swimming pool. Tired of chlorine-scented towels draped over all my kitchen chairs. Tired of constantly wrestling a hat onto the baby to keep his sweet little baby skin from getting seared by the unforgiving summer sun. Tired of wincing when I open the electric bill.

That’s all coming. But for now, I’m trying to enjoy the little things about summer that I do like–and enjoy looking forward to the other things that I like about summer (see: ice cream festival mentioned above).

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summertime, summertime, sum sum summertime

  1. Diane says:

    I still love summer best of all the seasons. Spring is beautiful here in Tennessee, but there’s just something left over from childhood memories. School’s out! Swimming! Beach! Reading in the hammock! Grilling out ! Ice cream! Fireworks on the 4th of July! Even yard work and gardening! I grew up on the east coast of Florida, by the way.

    1

Leave a Reply

