What are you reading right now?

I know this will come as a huge shock to y’all, but I’m a big reader.

I know, you probably just fell down in a heap, didn’t you?

At any rate, I’m a big reader. I love to read. No, actually, I need to read. I always need to have something to read. I need to have something to read with me, at all times, just in case. I can’t get on a train or an airplane or ride in a car for more than a few minutes without needing to pull out a magazine, or a newspaper, or a book–or to have all three to choose from, in an ideal world–to read. When I go on vacation, part of the pre-trip planning always includes coming up with a list of books to bring with me. I have to plan so that, if I get to my destination and some of the books I brought turn out to be lousy, I still have enough left to get me through the trip.

I read at the breakfast table. I read in the waiting room at the doctor’s office. I’ve even pulled out a book while sitting in the car in the carpool line at preschool.

If I get stuck somewhere without something to read, I start to get nervous. I’m not good at sitting still and just spacing out. I’d rather be reading.

I typically have several books going at once. Usually I have in my “currently reading” pile a couple of lightweight books that I can crack open right before bedtime, read a few pages, and then toss aside, along with a couple of more serious books. The more serious books might include literary fiction, or they might be nonfiction. It just depends.

For example, this past weekend, I finished up two books–one from each category. The first was Deadly Choices: How the Anti-Vaccine Movement Threatens Us All by Paul Offit, M.D. which I started after reading journalist Seth Mnookin’s book The Panic Virus, which also focuses on vaccination. The second book was Project Runway icon Tim Gunn’s newest book, Gunn’s Golden Rules: Life’s Little Lessons for Making It Work.

I guess I could give myself some extra credit by including the two books that I’m reading to my older son. Okay. I’m also reading Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Farmer Boy and Magic Treehouse #30: Haunted Castle on Hallow’s Eve by Mary Pope Osborne and Sal Murdocca.

But from time to time, I run into a problem. I finish reading the books that I had been reading and discover that I don’t have something new to start reading. I feel weirdly lost. Restless. Sometimes that’s when I revisit old favorites, which is always fun. But usually I start asking around, “Hey, what’ve you read lately? I’m looking for something new. No, please don’t suggest anything by Dan Brown.”

So I’ll ask you, the readers of this blog: What are you reading now? What have you read recently that you’d recommend? And no, I don’t want to read anything by Dan Brown.

A few other small conditions: I don’t want to read anything about the Apocalypse. Nor do I want to read anything about Justin Bieber. I don’t want to read any political screeds. I’ve read the whole The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series by Stieg Larsson already.

So. Whaddya got?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What are you reading right now?

  1. Brian says:

    How do you feel about Alexander McCall Smith? If you like his stuff, there are lots of books. He has several different series. I have really enjoyed the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books and I have listened to a few 44 Scotland Street audiobooks. There are also a few other series. I have found the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books wholesome and uplifting but not in a cheesy way or feeling dumbed down at all, just in a way that I have a good feeling as I’m reading it. I happen to enjoy his humor and ethos. I know he probably won’t win a Pulitzer or anything but if you haven’t read any of his books, you should definitely check one out of the library and see if it suits you (I’d recommend starting with the 1st No. 1 book).
    Happy reading!
    Brian

  2. I’m reading the Vampire Huntress Series by L.A. Banks along with my husband. He and I share the 12 books in the series. He reads one then passes it down to me. I’m also re-reading the Hunger Games series. It’s less heartbreaking the second time around. I’m reading everything I can get my hands on about the emerging trend of concierge medicine as well as accountable practice organizations. I’m not too keen on ACOs. I think they cripple healthcare professionals and will eventually lead to unsatisfied patients in the long run. If the govt. doesn’t try to regulate concierge medicine (which is code for screw it up), I think it’s the way to go in the future. Also reading various academic texts regarding professional nursing, spiritual care, research study evaluation, etc.

    I, too, have read the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series. Riveting. I might try the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books mentioned by Brian in the above post. I read fiction for an escape — a brain break.

Leave a Reply

