Covering nursing for 15 years

While doing research for a freelance assignment, I recently interviewed a woman who is a professor of nursing at a prestigious university. After the interview wound down, we got to chatting, and she asked me how long I’ve been a nurse.

“Actually I’m not a nurse,” I told her. “But I’ve been covering nursing off and on for about 15 years now.”

And as soon as I said that, I thought “Wow. Has it really been 15 years?”

Yes. Yes, it has. I’ve been writing about nurses and the nursing profession for almost 15 years now.

It happened by serendipity. You see, I majored in English in college and worked a variety of internships in preparation to become a journalist. It just so happened that I got hired out of college at a health care journal in Memphis. My editor assigned several beats to me, including nursing. So, among other health care news, I covered nursing there and learned all about the differences between a licensed practical nurse (LPN) and a registered nurse (RN) and a nurse practitioner (NP).

Then a few years later, I became a full-time writer for a nursing website called NurseZone. Later, I left to become a staff reporter at a daily newspaper, but I continued to freelance for NurseZone from time to time. I also wrote occasional health care articles for the newspaper, including some about school nurses.

And here I am today, still writing regularly about nursing and issues relevant to nurses, such as health care legislation, health care policy, research, women’s health and public health.

Here are a few freelance articles that I’ve recently written for NurseZone:

Pilot Study to Examine Nurse Transition-to-Practice Programs

Coordinating Care: Study Highlights Communication Gap Between EDs and Primary Care

Punitive Substance Abuse Policies Increase Risks for Nurses, Patients

Health Reform Implementation Underway

I really love writing about health care, and a large reason for that is that I’ve interviewed hundreds of nurses over the years who have been extremely kind and generous with their time in talking to me. I even have a few all-time favorites, although I won’t reveal their names and identities here. (Of course, I’ve interviewed some amazing doctors, pharmacists, physical therapists, lawmakers and others, too. I don’t want to neglect to mention them.) I’ve been very lucky. I learned about evidence-based practice, the medical home model, workplace violence, nurse-to-patient staffing ratios, Shaken Baby Syndrome, and hospital-acquired infections from nurses, and I’m very grateful to them for educating me–and by extension, my readers.

I just can’t believe it’s been this long!

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Health, Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Covering nursing for 15 years

  1. Erin says:

    Funny how time passes us by before we even realize it’s happening. If I can ask, how did you get into health care writing initially? I’m interested in doing so, although more on the marketing end. I’ve just found your blog today through another one you are a part of, and am greatly enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

