iWant an iPad

Earlier tonight, my husband said to me, “Hey, I’m going to be really late coming home from work tomorrow night.”

I’m accustomed to this. I haven’t been a doctor’s wife for all these years and not gotten used to a few things, like late nights and interrupted sleep. But it was nice for him to give me a heads up a whole day in advance, rather than calling at 7 p.m. and telling me that he was still neck-deep in charts and might never escape.

“Okay,” I said.

“I’m going to go stand in line and buy my new iPad,” he added.

For the record, he was kidding.

I think.

But he has been jonesing for a new iPad for months now. He bought a 16 gig one last summer, even though I told him he should go ahead and spend the extra money to get the 32 gig version. He wanted to save a little money, since he was already feeling overly extravagant for buying an iPad in the first place, so he demurred. Unfortunately, the 16 gig one doesn’t hold all the movies and TV shows he wants to watch, so he has to delete and add, delete and add, from time to time.

So when Steve Jobs trumpeted the new iPad 2 recently, I could feel my husband start to quiver with longing for a shiny new iPad with even more memory. He quickly told me that he wasn’t going to go out and get one, at least not right away. But he wants one. He definitely wants one. He’s not going to go camp out in line at the Apple store tonight to get one, but I bet you anything that he finds a reason to get over there in the next few days to get a good look at one up close.

And now all I can think about is how cool it would be for him to get an iPad 2 because then I would inherit the hand-me-down original iPad. I mean, seriously. How cool would that be? It would be a lot easier to blog on an iPad than on my iPhone, which, as a dedicated blogger and journalist, I have done.

Not that I need one, either.

But then, I didn’t need an Easy Bake Oven when I was a little girl, and here I am, all these years later, still a tiny bit grumpy that I never got one. I don’t think the iPad will become the grown-up version of the Easy Bake Oven. I mean, the Easy Bake Oven was never an extravagance, even in 1981. But an iPad sure would be a fun toy….

But I don’t need one. I really don’t.

But…

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Journalism, Random musings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

