A follow-up on the whole plagiarism incident

Someone asked me how the whole plagiarism incident got resolved.

I notified the editor of the publication I’d written my original story for, and I told her what I’d found. She asked me to send her a copy of the article that copied my work, along with the URL. She then contacted someone at the publication that ran the article that copied mine and instructed them to take the story down from their website.

It appears that the editor/publisher agreed, because the story is gone. I don’t know what, if anything, they said to the writer. I presume they told her that it was not okay to copy/steal someone else’s work, but who knows. We can only hope.

I’m glad that the other publication did remove the story from their website. My editor paid me for the story I wrote. It belongs to her…well, it belongs to the company that she works for. Why bother paying writers for articles if other people are going to poach the story and not bother to even give credit where credit is due, let alone any kind of payment? So this resolution is good for me, as a professional writer who needs that paycheck, too.

But I have to admit that a part of me is still feeling pretty cynical about the whole thing. I guess I’ll be doing random spot checks to see if any of my stories for future assignments end up in the wrong places.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

