Snow again? Again??

More snow. It’s here. It started around 3 p.m. We’ve got an inch or so on the ground right now. It’s still coming down, too.

Yawn.

We’ve had so much snow–well, so much snow for Nashville–this year already that everyone is very ho-hum about this latest meteorological development. The most commonly heard comment I’ve encountered is something along the lines of “Dear God, please don’t let them cancel school again tomorrow.”

If you’re not familiar with the Snowbird, here’s your chance to get educated. The local NBC affiliate WSMV has this longtime character called Snowbird who tells all about the school closings.

So far, so good, as far as my elder son’s school is concerned. Of course, things could change. And they probably will. So I went to the grocery store a little while ago to buy ingredients for Rice Krispy treats. I figure, if we’re stuck at home tomorrow, we need to at least have something fun to eat.

You know how there are rain dances? Are there snow dances, too? Are there any anti-snow dances that anybody knows about and would be willing to share? Actually, I’m fine with the snow. It’s the slushy, icy roads that I don’t like. That’s the culprit for school closings and houseboundedness (how do you like my making-up-new-words skill, huh? You know exactly what I mean, too, don’t you? It’s my newfangled way of saying ‘cabin fever.’). We need heated roads, that’s what we need. That way, we can enjoy the pretty snow and not have to deal with the driving headaches. Gee, I wonder how much that would cost.

Stay warm, my friends. I’m sure I’ll be right here tomorrow.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Random musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow again? Again??

  1. Snowbird is on my hit list.

  2. Ha! I’m actually ok with this today. It will be interesting for sure. Santi is going to stay home so I’ll venture in to work at some point. Rice krispy treats are a grand idea! I need to go the store to get ingredients! If not, I may try my first ever from scratch cookies. I’m thinking pretzel chocolate chip…I may actually make a baker out of myself…

Leave a Reply

