I watched for the clothes

Who watched the Golden Globes last night?

I did. And although he will deny it, my husband did, too. He watched out of the corner of his eye while he was supposedly watching an episode of the recently-cancelled show “Rubicon.” Whenever I gasped over how Annette Bening’s hair looked like a case of dreadlocks gone wrong, he’d sit up and act like he hadn’t been surreptitiously noticing. Of course when January Jones pranced on stage in that red harness contraption, he didn’t even pretend to not be paying attention.

In years past, I always tried to see all of the major films nominated for an Academy Award, which meant that I usually saw most of the Golden Globe nominees, too. And given that the GGs also hand out awards for TV, I usually had a reasonable amount of interest in that side, too. This year, I was watching purely for the clothes. Having given birth to a baby last February, I should think it more or less goes without saying that I haven’t exactly seen a lot of movies this past year. In fact, I saw two movies in all of 2010: “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part One” and “Tangled.” I just got that last one in under the wire right before New Year’s, too. I’ve watched a little more TV, but not much.

So not only did I not have much of an opinion about who won or lost, I couldn’t even tell you most of the nominees in most of the categories. I hadn’t even heard of some of the younger nominees and actors at the event. Who is this Mila Kunis person? And Andrew Garfield? Who are these people? Have I really been out of commission that long? It’s only been a year! I’ve got to get back on track here in 2011. Maybe that should have been one of my New Year’s resolutions. Er, if I had made any, that is.

Anyway, my basic take on the red carpet attire: meh. Some good (Clare Danes, Helen Mirren), some would-have-been-good-without-a-really-bad-accessory (Natalie Portman), some Sandy-in-the-dance-competition-in-“Grease” bad (Jennifer Lopez), and some must-be-on-purpose-bad-because-who-wears-two-different-colored-shoes? (Helena Bonham Carter). Catherine Zeta-Jones looked gorgeous, as usual. Christian Bale looked slightly unhinged, as usual. Not too much that really made me sit up and swoon.

Bring on the Oscars, I say. Let’s have something to really write home about.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Random musings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I watched for the clothes

  1. heide says:

    Jennifer! You haven’t been under a rock that long. Mila Kunis was on That 70s Show. She’s been around since she was in high school.

  2. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Ohhhhh, is that who that is? Now it’s ringing a bell. But I still don’t know who that Garfield guy is.

Leave a Reply

