That’s a wrap

I don’t want to brag, but I think I’m finished with all of my Christmas shopping. Even the stocking stuffers. That’s particularly unprecedented. Usually I’m out on Christmas Eve, trying to pick up a few last-minute stocking stuffers. Not this year, kids. Nope.

Wrapping, however, is a different story. I have not wrapped a single thing, save for the box of gifts that I shipped out to my parents last week. (Last week! I know! It even arrived already!) I learned my lesson about wrapping gifts early last year. If you want a laugh at my expense, you can read aboutwhat my son did last year to all the presents that I wrapped. At any rate, I’m going to wait to wrap presents until the last minute because there’s no way I’m wrapping presents twice two years in a row. I have, however, made sure that we have plenty of tape and wrapping paper on hand.

And of course, some presents won’t get wrapped at all. Usually, if there’s something fairly large, I just smack a bow on top and stick it by the Christmas tree. But um, there’s no real rhyme or reason beyond that. It might be a Santa gift. Or it might not be. Apparently that’s heresy to some folks, though. At their house, Santa never wraps presents. Or else he wraps presents in one specially-designated wrapping paper. But it’s always the same, whatever it is. I guess I’m lucky…er, Santa is lucky…that my elder son has not yet caught on to the inconsistency yet. (Please don’t let this be the year that he starts noticing.) I have not yet decided what my strategy will be this year. I will probably make the call around 10 p.m. on Christmas Eve.

What’s your strategy? Do you have one?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

