How do you choose clips?

Someone recently asked me to provide a small selection of my clips. Not an unexpected phenomenon, not for someone who makes her living as a writer. And especially not for someone who makes her living as a writer who’s on the lookout for new clients to write for.

In the past, I’ve usually pulled five or six clips from a batch of about 12 of my favorite stories. Sometimes, depending on the prospective client or editor, I’ll substitute other, more relevant stories. For example, when I wanted to write for a cancer magazine, I sent several cancer-related stories to the editor. And when I’ve pitched stories to parenting magazines, I’ve tried to show off my better parenting stories.

But right now, I’m feeling a little conflicted. I’d still like to show off some of my favorite clips, but a few of them are more than five years old now. Can I still use them? I wrote them, and I worked very hard on them. I think they should still count. But I wonder if others feel the same way. Could I still use them with a series of newer ones interspersed with them?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Journalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

