Frustration

I subscribe to what feels like a zillion different Twitter feeds, and today, I read a tweet that one web-based magazine I like has hired a new blogger. Immediately, I felt grumpy. About 18 months ago or so, I lobbied this particular publication hard to convince them to let me write for them. I had a not-too-short, not-too-long list of well-conceived story ideas, complete with details that showed that I had researched the topics in advance to make sure they were worthy. I provided samples of some of my best clips. I included my carefully-edited resume.

And….nada. They blew me off. I think the official party line at that time was, “We are not currently accepting submissions from any new writers.” I checked back a couple of times later on, to see if they had changed their minds, but allegedly they had not.

So now I can’t decide what the deal is. Were they really not accepting submissions from any new writers all that time, and then magically, a window opened up when they were accepting new writers, and this Janey-come-lately slid right in at precisely the right moment? Or did they just not like me and my writing and my ideas? If it was the former, well, I guess I should have continued to relentlessly pursue them anyway, with the risk of pissing them off, because there could have been that magic opening for me. If it was the latter, well, what could I really do?

That’s one of the bad things about being a freelance writer. Sometimes, no matter what you do, you just can’t convince someone to give you a chance. Well, let me amend that statement. I’m sure they’d let you do that for free, but that doesn’t pay the electric bill. It doesn’t bother me when a publication hires a new writer or a new blogger, and that person’s work turns out to be a lot better than mine. I know my limitations, I really do. But there are also times when I read a column or article and think, “Really? You hired this person but wouldn’t give me the time of day? Really??” I guess in some cases, it all just boils down to a matter of taste, but hmph.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

