TGIF: Thank God It’s Fall

Thank God it’s fall.

Seriously, fall weather makes me want to fall to my knees, raise my hands up toward the heavens and sing, “Thank God Almighty! Free at last!”

Okay, to be fair, it’s not really fall yet. But it’s coming. I can tell that it’s coming, and that’s good enough for me. This was not a summer that I’d particularly care to repeat. Actually, last summer kind of sucked, too. Last summer, I was pregnant and miserable with a capital M. That was the summer when I spent an inordinate amount of time lying on the bathroom floor in front of the toilet, while my preschooler danced around me and shouted encouraging things like, “On your mark! Get set! Throw up!” This summer, I was mostly just laid up with a broken ankle, as I’ve written about exhaustively in this very blog. It wasn’t very fun either. I couldn’t go do the fun things that I like to do in the summer that make it worthwhile to put up with the hot weather, like going to the pool or a baseball game. Then, when I finally was able to walk again, it was so ridiculously hot and humid outside, that I didn’t even want to do much of anything. Bah. You know it’s hot when your overly precocious four-year-old can’t even tell you the temperature on the minivan’s thermometer gauge because he can’t count that high.

But fall! It’s coming. It is. I even bought a jacket today, in anticipation of fall. Sure, it’s going to be 90 degrees tomorrow here in Music City USA, but the calendar says September, and like I already said, that’s good enough for me. It will be cool eventually. It will. I am practically salivating over the prospect of being able to sleep with the windows open at night in a few more weeks. I love that feeling, when you wake up in the morning, and the room is sort of deliciously cool and just ever-so-slightly damp, just enough to make you want to snuggle down under the covers.

Is it too early to start talking about putting up the Halloween decorations, y’think?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Random musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

