Help me figure out what do about random spam comments

Okay, I’m having a major problem with the comments on my Blogspot blog. Who can help me out?

I started a blog on Blogspot right after my older son was born in 2006. I structured it so that anyone could comment, and for years, that worked just fine. Then I started getting a few random spam comments here and there. I mostly just deleted the ones that were obviosu spam and didn’t worry too much about them. For the record, I did not delete comments from people I didn’t know but who were genuinely commenting on the blog. I’m not big into censorship as a general rule.

Then last year, I started getting a whole slew of spam comments on a few posts. How do I know they were spam? Well, they were written completely in Japanese characters. Or maybe Chinese. Or maybe both. I’m not sure. I was afraid to Google them. I went back into the blog and fixed it so that you had to be approved to comment on my posts. But that meant that no one was commenting at all anymore, which sort of took some of the fun out of it.

So I made it so that would-be commenters have to type in a couple of randomly generated words or series of letters before making their comments. That worked again, for awhile, except that I still didn’t get many genuine comments anymore. But at least it seemed to keep the random Asian spammers away.

But a few months ago, they came back. Now they post with an English-sounding name (sometimes) but fill the comment space with lots of characters that, again, I don’t understand. And hello, of course they are not legitimate comments. What’s the point of commenting if you’re doing it in another language so that no one who’s writing or reading the blog can understand them? It’s not like they’re saying something that I can respond to, which would be fine.

So what can I do? I mean, I guess I can keep deleting them. But what else can I do?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help me figure out what do about random spam comments

  1. Beth Blevins says:

    I keep getting spam comments that are actually ads–for such things as term papers for sale. I delete the ads, when I catch them. I’ve also gotten spam comments in Chinese, which I delete, but I’m wondering why anyone would take the time to post something in Chinese to a blog written in English–it’s not like my readers are likely to understand it. Does it serve any other purpose, then (are they searchable on Google, somehow)? If you hear how to handle this offensively (rather than just defensively), let me know!

Leave a Reply

