Secret identity

I love looking at all the stats and info that WordPress provides for my blog. I like to see what incoming links have led people to this blog, and I like seeing how many people have clicked on a particular post in a certain time period.

But it’s the Internet searches that are perhaps the most hilarious. Usually, the most commonly used search times that lead to this blog are some version of my name and some version of “write” or “writing,” as you’d expect. But sometimes, a person will be randomly searching the ‘Net for, oh, say “songs about rainbows” and come across the blog post I wrote about, yes, songs about rainbows. I got a bunch of extra hits in May after Romenesko linked to my rant-and-rave post about the historic flood here in Nashville getting ignored by the media, and people were searching for posts about the media’s coverage of the flood.

But today, the list of most commonly searched terms that led people to Jennifer Larson, Writer at Large included “Jen Larson exotic dancer.”

(Pause. Waiting for that to sink in.)

Boy, I don’t even know what to say about that. Not that I have any problem with people wanting to be exotic dancers if they want to do that, but wow, I think that’s the first time in my whole life that anyone has ever linked me personally with exotic dancing. If you’ve ever met me in person, you’d immediately know why. Suburban matron? Check. Rowdy kids? Check. Drives a minivan? Check. More likely to be wearing madras plaid shorts and J Crew flip flops with frogs printed on them than spiky stilettos and an intimidating bustier? Check.

I’m sort of curious now about the Jen Larson who’s an exotic dancer. It’s like I have an alter ego out there. What’s she like? Does she have a blog? Does she secretly wonder what it’s like to be a mom with a diaper bag, a Maclaren stroller and a membership at the Adventure Science Center? What if we switched places for a day? Could she handle the endless diaper changes, requests for snacks and chauffeuring to preschool and birthday parties? Would I have a lot of trouble learning how to swing around a pole? (Actually I can answer that: yes. Definitely yes. I can barely stay upright on my crutches. I nearly fell over reaching into the fridge a little while ago.) Would we find things in common other than our name?

Jennifer Larson is actually a pretty common name, as I was chagrined to discover when I tried to get some version of my name as a username for a Gmail account. There are lots and lots of us out there. So it’s really not surprising to imagine that there’s an exotic dancer out there with my…er, our name. It’s just funny for me to think about because my natural inclination when I think of Jennifer Larson is to think about, well, me.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Random musings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Secret identity

  1. Diane says:

    Very interesting – definitely a different career path to consider!

Leave a Reply

