Looking for more about the flood?

Want to read an especially thoughtful and heartfelt post about the flood’s effect on real people here in Nashville?

How silly of me to ask. Of course you do.

Check out this post by Lindsay Ferrier on her blog Suburban Turmoil. Ferrier is known as a (really) funny writer, but she does poignant well, too.

There was some really amazing stuff written by Nashville writers, amateur and professional alike, about the flood. Of course there was the famous “We are Nashville” essay, but there were many other accounts that were worth reading, too. In fact, I discoverfed that just a quick Twitter search on terms like #Nashvilleflood and #Othersituation2010 could turn up a bazillion links to people’s blogs and their stories. I could have read personal accounts for days and not gotten through all of them. I tried to read as many as I could when I had time. Some of them made my heart race.

In fact, I think someone really ought to compile a bunch of the best blog posts (like Ferrier’s) written during and after the flood and make a book out of it. They could sell it as a book of essays and raise money for disaster relief. I’d volunteer to help choose and edit the selections. I just don’t have any connections with any publishers, or I’d go ahead and take charge myself. Heck, I’m tempted to do it anyway. Not that I know the first thing about how to go about doing that!

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Amazing, Fixing things, Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

