Multitasking as an art form

I feel like I probably refer a little too often in this blog to many of the things that I find myself doing as a parent-slash-writer. Or more specifically, as a mother/writer.

(Side note: I refuse to refer to myself as a Mommy Blogger. First of all, I’m not a professional blogger, not really. I generate the vast majority of my income through journalism-type writing. I blog mostly for fun. Secondly, I only really write about Mommy issues on my own blogs, not for other people, with a couple of exceptions. I mean, the last article that I wrote discussed the possible ramifications of the growing shortages of primary care physicians for a health care website. Not exactly fodder for spirited debates with other mommies at the playground. Although wouldn’t that be cool? It’d be much more fun to discuss that for a change, instead of how fast our kids outgrow their shoes. But man, they really do outgrow their shoes so fast. I feel like I am always dropping more money than I’d like to at Stride-Rite or Lonnie Young’s. But I digress…)

But the truth is that this is my life. It reflects the choices that I’ve made and the choices that I will make. I have chosen to work out of my home, to be a mother, to have two children and to use my professional skills as a freelance writer. I’ve chosen to combine all those things, and to deny that that’s how I live my life would be silly as well as dishonest.
So I am not going to apologize for being a parent-slash-writer. It’s just who I am. I multitask.

And now that I’ve gotten that off my chest, I’ll tell you about my latest little experience. I needed to interview someone on Friday afternoon, so I had arranged a phone interview with this source at 3 p.m. And wouldn’t you know it? Andrew decided at 2:55 to express how insanely and insatiably hungry he was, despite having eaten about an hour earlier. No amount of pleading or pacifier-wielding on my part would calm him down. So I did what I had to do, which was to strategically arrange him on my lap, put the phone to my ear, and hunch over the keyboard, typing away as he nursed. I got my interview. Of course, I also had a bit of a cramp in my neck and my left arm afterward, but you gotta do what you gotta do. I like to think of this as taking multitasking to a whole new level. But when I posted that little tidbit on Facebook, lots of my friends posted to chime in that they’ve had to do similar things. I’m not alone. I’m not even unusual. Maybe I should solicit some advice on how to multitask in other ways, too…

But you know this is what I signed up for. I may have to occasionally nurse a baby and discuss the nursing shortage with a health care expert on the phone, and I may have to occasionally put the iPhone on speaker and take notes in the front seat of the minivan while my four-year-old plays WordGirl games on the iPod Touch in his carseat in the backseat. But I get done what I need to get done, and what else can I possibly ask for?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multitasking as an art form

  1. oh, you are soooooooo not alone!

Leave a Reply

