Help Me Out, Folks

Well, hell.

The major downside of having a shiny new computer to work on? Er, on which to work? Not having all my favorite bookmarks saved from the old computer. Argh. I had a whole list of great journalism and freelance writing and editing websites and blogs that I used to check regularly. None of those made it over here, of course, and I just had a baby and am too sleep-deprived to remember many of them.

Darn darn darn.

So now I have to figure out what I’ve forgotten and make a whole new list and save those links. What’s that oft-quoted thing from Donald Rumsfeld? Something about there are things that we know, things that we don’t know, and things that we don’t know that we don’t know? That’s how I’m feeling about my writing bookmarks. I can’t believe that I just paraphrased Donald Rumsfeld on my own free will. That’s how desperate I’m getting, apparently.

At any rate, here I am. Got a favorite journalism website or blog? Got a freelancing blog? What’s your favorite freelance job website? What are some good resources that you don’t mind sharing? And while you’re at it, what professional organizations should I think about joining this year? I said I was going to wait to do anything along those lines ’til after the baby* was born anyway. I await any and all suggestions, if you don’t mind taking pity on me.
*
Super Baby!

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help Me Out, Folks

  1. Natalie Reed says:

    Well, I don’t have any journalism/writing sites to share, but my suggestion would be to bookmark what you do find on an online site such as Diigo or Delicious so you don’t lose them when you change computers (or use one at the library, friends house, wherever). Diigo is pretty cool because in addition to tagging, categorizing, etc., you can highlight parts of sites/articles and it will be highlighted when you go back to it. Hope that’s somewhat helpful!
    Nat

Leave a Reply

