Motivate me, please

Oh my God, I cannot get motivated to do anything extra!

It’s about all I can do to drag myself to the computer each day and work on the projects I already have on my plate. I really need to do even more on those, too. But to actually sit down and hammer out pitch letters and queries and apply for new stuff? So. Not. Happening. At least not right now.

And I had such good intentions, too!  Yeah, yeah, I know all about that road to hell. But seriously. I had a list of possible story topics, some leads, some good ideas to follow up on, and even a few people whom I wanted to contact.  And what happened? I haven’t touched any of it. This is SO not a good way to run a freelance writing business. It takes so long to hear back from some people, especially if it’s the query equivalent of a cold call, that I really should be sending out stuff now so I might hear back at some point in the spring.

But instead I am just doing a bang-up fabulous job of imitating a slug. Can I have a nap and maybe an ice cream cone, please?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

