January gets underway

I don’t generally make New Year’s Resolutions, personal or professional. I never remember to keep them, so what’s the point, other than to set myself up for failure? Who needs that? I try to take things as they come along, while also doing a prudent amount of Planning Ahead and Goal Setting. I think that’s more reasonable and less pie-in-the-sky anyway.

With that in mind, let’s see what the month of January is shaping up to look like. So far, I’ve got on tap:

  • two stories for a health care website;
  • an ongoing project for a medical center website;
  • a story for a university magazine;
  • a weekly newsbriefing to put together for the aforementioned health care website.

That’s it. The last one is easy, so I almost didn’t even list it. Another story for the health care website develop at some point, which would be nice.  On the long-range Goal Setting front, I would like to continue to expand the publications (online and traditional) in which my work appears. So I’m trying to put together a couple of pitches for other magazines; the real question is going to be whether I have energy to put together a fully-fleshed out proposal or not while I’m trying to get existing work completed AND prepare for the baby. I don’t want to submit a pitch without having a really polished proposal to show for myself.

Now….if I can only get this annoying carpal tunnel syndrome to leave me alone so I can get things done!

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

