Christmas is coming…

Christmas is coming!

(Okay, I cannot write or say those words without seguing into the little song from the Muppet Christmas movie–you know, the one with John Denver—so bear with me while I do that real quick.)

Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat! Please put a penny in the old man’s hat. If you haven’t got a penny, a ha’penny will do. If you haven’t got a ha’penny, then God bless you!

Okay, thanks for indulging me.

So let me get to the real point of this blog entry. Christmas, indeed, is coming, and there are all these Christmas-type activities that I want to do with my three-year-old. But I just don’t have the energy for them. The spirit is willing, but the body, not so much. My mother-in-law has graciously volunteered to take my son to have breakast with Santa at a local bookstore in a couple of weeks, and for that, I am very grateful. But there are all these other things that we could do, but part of me just feels too tired to even attempt them. I could take him to a huge tree-lighting ceremony, complete with country music stars and visits with Santa, tomorrow evening at a local college…but wow, the thought of parking and walking to the event alone makes me want to lie down. And there’s a Christmas parade downtown on Friday night, but oh, the logistics. Oh, the parking issues. Oh, the traffic.

And then there are the Christmas activities that would be very cool…but they cost too darn much. Unless I land some unexpected and hugely lucrative assignment in the next week or so, I just don’t think I can justify taking my preschooler to an hour-long gingerbread house-decorating workshop for $45 or $60. He’s likely to be enthusiastic for about five minutes, and then he’ll just start eating all the candy. I can buy a few bags of candy or a gingerbread house kit at Target or Publix for about $10, and he’d be just as happy. But there’s this weird little part of me that thinks, wistfully, “Oh, but it would be such a nice Mommy-Son bonding thing to do for Christmas.” Yeah, I’m a sucker. Luckily, I’m a sucker who knows she can’t justify the cost, at least this year.

So I’m trying to talk myself into recognizing that we have plenty of time ahead of us to do fun, warm-and-fuzzy holiday-memory-building activities together. I don’t have to cram it all in this year. My son is likely to be thrilled by just making Christmas cookies with his grandmother and picking out a few new ornaments with me at Pier One and Ten Thousand Villages. He’d be happy to watch the “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer” special on TV with me. We don’t have to do all the big fancy stuff to have meaningful holiday experiences. Isn’t that why I’m instituting the weekly lighting of the Advent candle on our family Advent wreath every Sunday? That’s not big and fancy, but it IS meaningful. And my son does seem to get it.

And I know that, too, I really do. I’m just trying to remind myself.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Holiday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

