Surviving…

So I’ve been reading a lot of blog posts on other people’s writing-related blogs lately, and many of them encourage writers and would-be writers not to forget about marketing themselves, even when they have plenty of work. You never know when the work you have is going to dry up, the (very reasonable) rationale goes, and it’s better to be proactive about selling your talents and finding new work to establish and maintain a steady flow of assignments. And income.

I wholeheartedly agree. It definitely pays to be proactive. It’s definitely worth your time to carve out some time to send out new query letters, to check back in with old clients, make phone calls, to improve your website, write on your blog, brush up on your skills, and look for new opportunities. When I do it, I’m usually pleased by the good results. And when I don’t do it, I’m not too surprised by the not-so-great results.

The trouble for me lately is that I just haven’t had the energy to do any of that. You see, I’m pregnant with my second child, and if you’ve ever been pregnant, you can probably imagine what the last couple of months have been like for me. So I’ve been able to manage my existing work pretty well, but I just can’t imagine trying to take on any more work right now. The good thing about writing is that at least I can do it while I’m sitting down. And another good thing about freelancing is that the person on the other end of the phone doesn’t have to know I’m still in my pajamas, green-faced from nausea. I know that in a few months, I’ll be wishing I had made more effort, but frankly, the last couple of months have been all about survival for me. The thought of attempting to do anything more was likely to drive me into the fetal position (if I wasn’t already there!).

I guess I’m just trying to reassure myself that this, too, will pass. And I’ll feel more like being proactive again soon.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surviving…

  1. sunehra says:

    Take it easy! You’re about to perform your second miracle, you deserve time off 🙂

  2. Wayne Key says:

    I remember my sister-in-law some years ago. She was 5 months pregnant at Christmas and she was embarrassing her husband by telling us how much she loved him while we were all gathered around the Christmas table…. then it came out. He was so nice to her that he had gotten up that very morning to make her breakfast…(drumroll please… lol) so that she had something to throw up. Ouch.

    Anyway… good luck… as the writer above says you are performing your second miracle.

  3. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Y’all are seriously too nice to me. Thanks so much for the pep talks.

    (And sadly, I know all about eating something just so I have something to throw up. It’s just another one of those lovely details of pregnancy that no one tells you about beforehand. And I don’t even have that excuse this time around, since I’m working on my second child!)

Leave a Reply

