Fixed again!

Weirdly—or, given that it might actually be useful to someone, perhaps not so weirdly—the post on this blog that regularly gets the most hits is one that I wrote back in late December about my brother fixing our toilet. It’s called Fixed! and it discusses my overall uselessness when it comes to household repairs.

Well, I was only useless at household repairs until today, folks. I discovered that the toilet in our master bathroom wasn’t flushing correctly, and so I hauled out the auger that my brother bought for us and put it to good work. After only three or four tries, I had that toilet flushing again just fine. I was so proud of myself that I hopped around the bathroom for a few minutes, saying “Wahoooo!” And of course, wouldn’t you know it, there was no one else home to share in my newfound sense of accomplishment. Then again, if anyone else had been home, I might not have tried to fix the toilet by myself.

Anyway, here’s what you can learn from this: you, too, can fix basic clogs in your toilet at home. Pitch the flimsy plunger and buy yourself a $10 toilet auger at Home Depot or Ace Hardware. Read the instructions and give it a shot. If I can, anyone can.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Fixing things and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

