Hurry up, September

This month cannot end quickly enough.

I’m not a big fan of hot, muggy August weather to begin with. But to make matters worse, my son isn’t in school during the month of August, which translates into no regular childcare….which translates into a lack of guaranteed kid-free working time for me.

Yesterday morning, for example, I needed to interview a medical researcher for a project I’m working on. We scheduled a phone call for mid-morning. Normally, I’d try to schedule these interviews for the times when my son is either in school or napping. But I needed to do this interview quickly, so we settled on yesterday morning. Knowing my son would be at home..and at loose ends, unfortunately…I turned on the TV and implored him to watch one of his favorite kiddie shows on PBS, like “Sesame Street” or “Arthur.” Unfortunately, he thought it was way more fun to burst into my office while I was on the phone. I waved frantically at him to go back to the playroom, that I was still on the phone. He immediately began to screech and laugh and make a whole heckuva lot of noise. And THEN he started pulling on the back of my hair. I was about ready to kill him. I pleaded with my source to hold on just a minute, then bodily picked my son up and carried him out of the room and told him that I’d be done in a few minutes but that if he bothered me again, there would be consequences.

Luckily, the woman on the other end of the phone had a small child and knows exactly what they’re like. She laughed and commiserated with me for a few minutes, and then we finished up the interview. I was relieved to be finished with it, but I was still very irritated with my child. Granted, he’s three years old, so I can hardly expect him to act like an adult. But he also knows that he’s not supposed to interrupt me when I’m on the phone, and he is old enough to understand that. Believe me, we have had that little conversation more than a few times. Argh. The life of a freelance writer is just so glamorous, isn’t it?

So I’m counting down the days ’til preschool begins, and I’ll have my regular work time back again. Bonus: then I can spend more time with my child when he’s not in school because I’ll already have had time to get my work done.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurry up, September

  1. Barbara says:

    Jennifer, I am so glad to read this! I am just trying to get into freelance mode and wondered if it was possible with a toddler. I have been looking for some supporting sites on how to mother and freelance at the same time, so thank you for your candor. The truth helped and gave me a good laugh to boot.

    -Barbara

Leave a Reply

