New gadgets

Anyone else slow to adopt new technology—and then, once you finally do, wonder why on earth you’d waited so long?

Last summer, my husband talked me into swapping out my ancient Sony microcassette recorder for a brand spanking new digital voice recorder. I’d been using that dented tape recorder for at least ten years. It had gone with me everywhere. I’d toted it with me to interview doctors in Memphis hospitals, to meetings with delegates in the Maryland State House, to record sessions with high school students in Palm Desert. I loved that little gadget. And I was skeptical about using a digital voice recorder because I worried I’d have a hard time skipping through an interview and finding quotes that I needed, a task that I felt was relatively easy with a microcassette (just take note of the counter).

So one day, early last June, David and I were in Best Buy, and he showed me a pretty little red MP3 player that could record some insane amount of stuff. I took it home, read the instructions and debuted it during an interview a few days later. I was astounded by how much better the sound quality was, and I was delighted how easy it was to download the file to my computer and then click around on the file to find what I needed. It was so much easier to use than I had thought it would be. A year later, I still love it.

Now I’m anxious to acquire another new electronic gadget. I’m wishing I had a Blackberry, or an iPhone, or a mini-computer of some sort. I have a good cell phone, but I can’t browse the Internet from it. And there are lots of times when I’m away from home and I wish I could check my email. Or look up some information. Or both. (This is also the time when I admit that I see everyone else using them, and I’m sort of envious.)

I think another new gadget may be in my future. I’ll let my husband know so he can start cruising the aisles at Best Buy again, or visiting his favorite tech websites to read reviews. As much as I enjoy doing research about many things, I’m just not very enthusiastic about doing research on electronic stuff…I just enjoy using the electronic gadgets once I get them.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New gadgets

  1. Shab says:

    iPhone is the way to go! (it also entertains preschoolers beautifully!) Plus, even with the new fancy ones coming out, I’ve never really needed more than the 8 gig version. With Pandora and other internet radio applications, I always have music that I like!

    Feel free to give mine a test drive any time. I have no regrets! (well, except for maybe a few too many games of scrabble online…)

  2. mwgriffith says:

    One of my friends recommended that I try something called a My Passport, and my immediate response to this was rather dismissive considering that I do not travel often. Turns out that it is a portable hard drive, sleek in design, and small enough to fit into my pocket. What a marvelous little gadget! It holds 500 gigs, and is the perfect storage place for my novels. Of course, I still have back up copies on cd, as well as a flash drive dangling from my key chain. When I look at all of these devices, I begin to wonder when I became so electronically inclined. I can’t help but to wonder how I went so long without these seemingly trivial yet imperative little things!

  3. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Not only do I love new technology that makes my life easier, but I love it when it’s really, really small.

    Of course, even tiny stuff adds up after awhile!
    I recently visited my parents, and I lugged along all my electronica and its corresponding USB cords, etc, and I filled a big old Lands’ End tote bag with all of it: cell phone charger, car charger, digital camera, camera battery charger, USB cable for the digital camera, Flip, Flip charger, USB and television cables for the Flip, the portable DVD player, the cables for the DVD player, the digital voice recorder and is cables, etc. etc. It was insane. I was Overwhelmed with Cords. I’m sure that someone will probably now tell me that I could have used the same cord for everything, but like I said earlier, I’m a little slow to figure it all out and I just go with what works for me until I do, in fact, figure it all out!

Leave a Reply

