Updating the old resume

Is there anything quite as tedious as updating your resume? Other than copying old clips, that is?

It occurred to me a few days ago that I hadn’t updated my resume to include a couple of new writing clients, so I pulled up the file tonight to make some changes. I try to do that sort of thing on a semi-regular basis so that it don’t require too much time and effort. Because making major changes is no fun. Sometimes it even requires format changes, and that makes me a little crazy.

 Tab, tab, space space space..wait…ack! Backspace backspace backspace backspace. Why won’t that hard tab hold? Argh! Enter enter, tab tab tab, space…backspace, tab, space…What the? Backspace backspace backspace.

Plus, most resume experts—and yes, there are such people–recommend that you keep your resume up-to-date because you just never know when you might need a current copy.

But it’s done now! The resume is current once again–and ready to be sent out to editors who are, I’m sure, just dying to see it.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Fixing things, Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

