Working for (or during) the weekend

Raise your hand if you’re working–either as an employee of someone else or as a freelancer–today or at some point over the three-day Memorial Day weekend.

I was grousing earlier because I am trying to pin a couple of people down for interviews, but because of the holiday weekend, no one is available. That is, I can’t reach those people because they’re not in the office today or for the next few days. Must be nice. I don’t even want to interview them right away; I just want to schedule something for later, but I have to put that off. Grouse grouse grouse.

When I worked for a newspaper in California, reporters routinely had to work at least one holiday each year–and sometimes more than that. The party line is “the news never stops and someone has to cover it.” So usually the senior reporters got to choose their must-work holidays first, and then everyone else competed for the leftovers.

Surprisingly, it was never hard to get people to volunteer for Christmas or Thanksgiving. There were always people willing to do those shifts. I worked Thanksgiving one year, and it was actually kind of fun. I covered some community dinners, interviewed a group of international students who were celebrating their first American holiday, and then ate a company-sponsored turkey dinner with my husband back at the office. Memorial Day, on the other hand, was usually not very popular. I actually volunteered for that shift a couple of times because we usually didn’t try to leave town then, but we did like to travel back east over T’giving or Christmas. You got paid time-and-a-half. It wasn’t too bad. I was still jealous of all the people in other industries who always got all the holidays off, plus other random days, but hey, at least I had a job.

Maybe that’s the root of my grouchiness: these people not only have jobs, but they have jobs that give them all this amazing time off! Where do I sign up?

Anyway, I guess that just gives me license to loaf around a little this weekend myself…

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Holiday, Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working for (or during) the weekend

  1. I can identify, Jennifer. I worked in newspapers for over six years. I never asked for Thanksgiving or Christmas, though, but if you’re single, those days might be better spent making the extra money.

    You know you need to find a new job, however, when you are covering the Strawberry Festival for the 1,000th time and cannot find a new angle. The shortcake eating contest was particularly gross. Who wants to see someone stuffing their face to the point of vomiting?

    If you eventually crave those days off with family, you can always work for city, state or federal government. I really thrived in a university setting, because you can fashion your own job and sometimes you only work hard about five hours a day.

  2. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    University setting? Sign me up!
    Also, by any chance, Lisa, did you work in Memphis? Because I remember feeling sorry for the TV reporters who always got assigned to the Strawberry Festival in that area when I lived there a decade or so ago.

Leave a Reply

