What is your work worth?

Fellow writer and blogger Lori Widmer asks the question of other writers, “Is it all about the dollar signs for you?” Widmer, who created Writers Worth Day, makes a really interesting point: wouldn’t it be better to focus more on growing your writing business rather than focusing solely on the money? Hmmm.

Jen’s Writing Journey also addresses this question this week. Jennifer Roland asks, “How do you make sure you earn what you are worth?”

Whew. Some big things to consider. I, of course, got all convoluted, just mulling it all over. I started to think of all these meta-questions, like “How do you even know you’re asking yourself the right question?” Which led to my wondering, “How do you know what you ARE worth, let alone what you should earn for what you’re worth?”

I hope I’m worth a lot. Well, make that “I hope my work is worth a lot.” And I hope that my business will reflect that.

I do know that I think I’m a much better writer and editor than I am a marketer-of-my-freelance-writing-and-editing-business. I’m sure many other people are much better at the whole “growing your business” aspect than I am. I’d rather just write.

But I am realistic and experienced enough to know that it just doesn’t work like that. You can’t just sit back and expect the work to come to you. You can’t just rely on your talent or skills to be enough. You have to get out there and actively look for work. You have to apply for jobs. You have to send queries. You have to show people why your work is good and tell them why they should hire you. And then you have to deliver on what you promise. It helps if you’re pleasant to work with, too. Because after all, it is a business. It may be a business that allows you (and me) to conduct phone interviews in pajamas, but it’s still a business.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is your work worth?

  1. Jen says:

    Thanks for the link. The topic really makes you think, huh?

Leave a Reply

