Am I the latest sucker?

I am a huge dork. But am I a sucker?

You know those late-night infomercials that scream and shout and cajole you to buy the latest nifty little product for only four EZ installments? I am usually immune to these. I mock them. I sneer at them, in fact. Yeah, and then I saw the one for the ShamWOW, the chamois-towel-sponge-thing.

Okay, sarcasm suspended. I wanted one. I wanted one so badly that I even managed to not make fun of the capitalized letters that make up the second part of its name. I have major klutz tendencies, you see, and I regularly spill things. During one memorable two-week period earlier this year, I managed to fall both up and down the stairs twice while holding a full cup of Diet Coke. A wave of Diet Coke crashed over my carpeted staircase. I had to run for the old threadbare towels to mop up the deluge. That was clearly a task for the vaunted ShamWOW. When I finished cleaning up the Diet Coke, I was left holding a heavy, sodden mess of stained towels. I needed something else.

Also, I have a toddler. Toddlers spill things. They just do. It’s part of the reason they’re on this earth–well, that and to drive their parents utterly crazy. My toddler managed to inherit my klutz tendencies–the Larson Klutz Gene, if you will–and well, you can imagine the state of our household. And my car.

Of course, I am not a total idiot. I know that things always sound better in their own commercials. I duly noted the complaints made on this website about the ShamWOW being a lot less “wow” than it purports to be. I once received an “as seen on TV” gift in a Dirty Santa exchange. It was a horrible plastic sealer device…I’m not exactly sure what it was supposed to do because I never could get it to do anything that was even remotely useful. I’m not that naive.

But when my husband brought me home a two-pack of mini-ShamWOWs from the hardware store this morning, I was still delighted. It almost makes me want to make a mess to test them out, to see if they’re really miracle devices or if I’ll be adding to the long list of complainers. But I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before I spill something, anyway. I’ll keep you posted. We’ll see if I got swayed by an overly enthusiastic advertising campaign or if I’ve really found a winner…

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Fixing things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I the latest sucker?

  1. KarinA says:

    My favorite part of the ShamWOW commercial is where Vince claims that “we can’t do this all day.”

  2. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Ha! I’ll have to watch the commercial again and catch that part. Why can’t he do it all day? Why not, if it will sell more ShamWOWs?

Leave a Reply

