Keeping motivated

One thing I really like about using WordPress is that it generates a list of random posts that might be related to your post. I’ve found some new blogs to read that way–blogs that I’ve never heard of but wished I’d known about already.

The most recent addition to my favorites list is The Writer Mama Riffs.  Interestingly enough, a recent post on her blog generated a random link to a post on this blog, not even my other blog Three Peas in a Pod, the one that is really more of a s0-called mommy blog. I think it was my post that was carping about President’s Day being a holiday now but not when I was a kid. Somehow, the little elves that power WordPress thought that people who were reading The Writer Mama Riffs that day might feel like reading my little rant, too. Maybe they did, maybe they didn’t. But it turned out to be a good thing that it did.

The proprietor Christina Katz is, as you might guess from the blog’s name, a writer and mother. Hmmm, do I know anyone else like that? Of course, I am not even in the same universe as she is–she’s also a teacher and the author of two books, Writer Mama and Get Known Before the Book Deal, but I’m always eager to learn. And seeing someone else who’s making it all work always gives me a hopeful spark, that flash of of “hey, maybe I can, too…”

Sometimes, it’s hard to be a writer, especially a freelance writer, because you really do feel like you are living from assignment to assignment, project to project. And sometimes you don’t just feel that way; you really ARE just living from assignment to assignment. I once blogged here about my own reticence about calling myself a writer, even now, even after I’ve been writing professionally for more than a dozen years. I even find myself wondering “can I still call myself a writer?” whenever I hit a dry spell and am not actually writing anything for a paycheck. And writing can be lonely at times. It can be wonderful, engrossing, uplifting, educational and many other wonderful things, but it can also be isolating. Because when you get down to it, you are alone, in front of the computer with your notebook, your notes and your thoughts.

So inspiration from others is really crucial to keeping the motivation level up when it flags. I wish I could say that I always find inspiration from within, but well…ha. I do sometimes, but not always. So for me, it’s good to find other writers out there to create that spark when I do need it.

Feel free to let me know if you have any favorite writing blogs, too, because who wants to run short on inspiration, right?

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping motivated

  1. heide says:

    Hey, are you familiar with Susan Ito? She originally was at TableTalk, then I knew her at Readerville. She’s also a writer/mother and her husband is a doctor (gastro, I’m pretty sure). Her blog is http://readingwritingliving.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

