Time to buy new supplies for the mobile office

A couple of days ago, I realized that I no longer had a pen and notepad within easy reach inside my car. I realized it when someone returned a call on my cell phone, and there I was sitting in the front seat, with nothing on which or with which to scribble down her name and phone number. Ack! I scrambled around for a few awkward seconds before finding a flyer for a consignment sale and making a few notes in the margin.

I’ve got to do something about this. Quickly. As a reporter, I always always always kept a blank reporter’s notebook and a couple of working pens in the front seat of my car. I always kept a spare notebook in my purse, too. I never knew when I was going to need to write something down, and as it turned out, I often took advantage of my mobile office supplies.

But awhile ago, I used up all the pages in my purse notebook and never got around to replacing it. The car notebook is actually still in the car…I think…but it’s buried under all the other more recent stuff that has taken over my car. Crucial stuff, like Spider-Man fruit treats, dried mango slices from Trader Joe’s, extra napkins from McDonald’s, invitations to birthday parties for three-year-olds and Wet Ones. Actually, scratch the sarcasm on that last remark: that stuff really is crucial to my survival as a parent. But it does mean that my notebook is AWOL, and that is a problem that needs to be rectified.

You know what this means, though, right? That’s right. A trip to Staples or Target to buy office supplies! Woohoo! I loved buying new school supplies as a child. And now I’m 34 years old, and I still love to buy new pens and notebooks. And crayons and markers and gluesticks. It’s all good. There’s just something so inspiring about a brand-new notebook with those pristine, crisp-smelling unruffled pages, you know? I know it won’t stay clean and new for very long, not in my car or purse, but at least I’ll enjoy buying them…and more importantly, I’ll enjoy having them when I need them.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Fixing things, Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time to buy new supplies for the mobile office

  1. Allena says:

    Spider man fruit treats? Are you sure that wasn’t MY car?

Leave a Reply

