Another newspaper gone

I had a weirdly hectic weekend, and I’m still catching my breath. So this will be a short post, while I gather my thoughts for something more detailed later.

Another one bites the dust. RIP: Rocky Mountain News. The company was struggling and couldn’t find a buyer to bail them out (and yes, I will refrain from making any acid-tongued bailout jokes here).

What makes me really sad–I mean, other than the fact that yet another daily newspaper has shut down–is that they wouldn’t even let it keep going until its 150th birthday in April. They shut down production 55 days before reaching that mark. Y’all, 150 years is a hell of a long time. That newspaper started printing before the Civil War broke out. Think about that. Would it really have been that hard to celebrate the 150th anniversary and then stop production? Not that it’s really any better, of course. The paper is still dead.

And here’s even more sobering news to mull over: since 2009 began, just two short months ago, 49 newspaper have closed down. Forty-nine! I’m glad that Erica Smith has the fortitude to run the Paper Cuts blog and allow me to monitor these happenings, but I don’t know how she does it.

In fact, I’m feeling so depressed right now that I don’t even have a witty or pithy comment with which to wind up this post.  I’ll be back later. I’m going to go have a drink.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

