What the media can expect

I have two media-related thoughts today, this first day after the inauguration of Barack Obama.

First, I’m heartened to hear President Obama wants more transparency in government. And I hope that leads to better protection of the openness of public records and information. Every young journalist can tell you how he or she has been stymied, trying to gain access to information that is ostensibly available to the public. Does the average person know that he has a right to know how the state legislature is spending his tax dollars–and does he know how to procure the paperwork that shows him where his money is going? Perhaps. But maybe, often, not. If a reporter, who has the time, directive, know-how and her newspaper’s money and support behind her, can’t get ahold of public information, what makes anyone think that Jane Doe off the street will be able to?

I can tell you that I’ve filed some FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) requests in my time and then waited months and months for a response from the appropriate government agency. And I’ve been told it would cost outrageous amounts of money to produce the actual paperwork. A J-school professor once told me to always provide a CD-ROM, just in case the people claim the info is on a computer and would require reams of paper to print out. Of course, that doesn’t do you much good if the requested info is actually in paper form and requires reams of paper to copy. But hopefully, an administration that is less hostile to FOIA request and openness in general will make the process of accessing information that you and I have a right to know much easier.

Secondly, did you hear about the Wall Street Journal editors and execs receiving a mailbox full of strange white powder? Luckily, the powder was determined to be harmless. Thank goodness it wasn’t something deadly. But still. Scary. I’ve received some weird stuff in the mail before, but it’s been limited to benign things, like hand-printed tracts about vegetarianism and videotapes of old Hopalong Cassidy movies. Even the hate mail I’ve received–and every reporter worth her salt has gotten at least a few such letters–has been relatively low-key. I can’t imagine receiving a letter or package and having to actually worry about whether my health–or my life–has been seriously threatened.

Of course, once the experts announced that the white powder in the WSJ staffer’s mailboxes was more likely to be flour than anthrax, I had to grumble about something else: the postmark on the envelopes was from Tennessee. Great job, anonymous powder-mailer. Way to make our state look good. I sincerely hope we don’t have more of that sort of thing to look forward to.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Journalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What the media can expect

  1. dnalel says:

    I read your post. Thank you, dnalel

  2. Karen says:

    I find it very ironic that Barack Obama wants more transparency in government. After all, he had his birth records sealed so that we could not determine if he was indeed a natural born citizen. Why the need for secrets? What does he have to hide?

  3. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Sorry, Karen, but you are misinformed. See what Snopes.com has to say here, as it debunks your claim: http://www.snopes.com/politics/obama/birthcertificate.asp

  4. Karen says:

    Thanks for the link. I did not realize there was new information about this.

  5. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    You’re welcome!

  6. Karen says:

    Hi Jennifer. I found this and thought you might be interested. This is very disturbing to me. Where is the transparency that they promised?

  7. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    I’m not exactly sure what that has to do with transparency, specifically, but it was interesting. I looked it up, however, and it looks like some misinformation has been propagated once again. Media Matters offers this information: http://mediamatters.org/items/200902110012. And here is a link to the transcript on CNN where Elizabeth Cohen takes on the claims, too: http://www6.lexisnexis.com/publisher/EndUser?Action=UserDisplayFullDocument&orgId=574&topicId=100007219&docId=l:925179259&start=3

Leave a Reply

