No New Year’s Resolutions Here

As a general rule, I don’t take New Year’s Resolutions too seriously.

Some years, I chose one golden resolution, and then for at least a month or so, I worked hard to maintain my vow. But ultimately, my enthusiasm waned. Most years, I set a few half-hearted resolutions and then only put the bare minimum of effort into keeping them. And I have to admit there have been more than a few years when I didn’t even bother to set any at all.

This year, 2009, is turning out to be one of those no-resolution years. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have some general goals or projects that I’d like to tackle this year.

First, I want to finally get through all the banker’s boxes full of old newspapers that are stacked in my rec room. Hundreds of my old newspaper clips are contained in those papers, and I want to go through them, cut them out and file them. Maybe eventually, I’ll even get around to scanning some into my computer and making digital files of them, since my old newspaper (The Desert Sun) does not have an open archive that goes back that far.

Secondly, I want to reorganize my existing filing system for my writing work. I have dedicated files for various projects, but I’d like to subdivide them even further.  For example, currently I have one big file for my NurseZone work and one big file for my Vanderbilt Diabetes Center project. Those are fine, but then I have some other projects really aren’t divided up as precisely. Then file away the finished projects in a better way. Er, I haven’t figured out what that way is yet, but I’m sure I can come up with something. I have almost a whole year, after all.

Thirdly, I’d like to develop some new projects and establish new freelance clients. I love the projects I have, but I’d like to do even more. And that’s why I’ve started looking earnestly for more writing/blogging/editing opportunities over the last couple of months. I know it will take awhile to do this, so I’m trying to make sure I dedicate some time each week to pursuing this goal. Perhaps I didn’t choose the best time to start working on that, given the holidays and, oh yes, the state of the economy, but there you go. I’m an optimist at heart.

That’s what I’ve got on my plate. No promises to lose ten pounds. No promises to get my whole house organized (ha ha! the very idea even cracks me up). No promises to write the next Great American Novel. Just stuff that I need to do anyway. That doesn’t seem so insurmountable, somehow.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Economy, Freelancing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

