Not a good time to be a journalist

I was wondering how bad the hemorrhaging had gotten in the newspaper industry. I knew it was bad, but I didn’t know it was quite this bad.

Check out this statistic. According to the blog Paper Cuts, more than 15,400 jobs have been lost in 2008 so far.

Ouch. OUCH.

That’s the sort of news (no pun intended) that makes me wince. It also makes me question, once again, why I didn’t go to law school ten years ago when I had the chance. Yes, yes, I know, I didn’t want to be a lawyer. Still don’t. But when your industry is coming apart at the seams, it makes you feel a little despondent. I may never work at a newspaper again. That’s not to say that I couldn’t be very happy in another type of job, as long as I got to read, write, and edit, but I come from a newspaper background. You can take the girl out of newspapers, but you can’t take the newspapers out of the girl. Or something like that.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Economy, Journalism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not a good time to be a journalist

  1. Rachel Toyer says:

    Samuel Freedman, a professor from Columbia University, just personally gave me this advice, “…there will always be a need for good journalists.”
    I remain hopeful.

  2. jenniferlarsonwrites says:

    Rachel, I sure hope so! I figure, surely there will always be a demand, somewhere, somehow, for the written word. Hopefully a well-written written word…

Leave a Reply

