Postpartum musings on work

Everyone’s been telling me to relax and take it easy, to recover from having a c-section and a gigantic baby, and not to worry about work or working for awhile. I’m trying, y’all, I really am. I’m doing a good job at not working, but I’m not doing a great job at not worrying about working.

Physically, I think I’m coming along pretty well. My body does tell me when I’ve pushed it a little too far, and for once, I am finding I really have to listen to that. I’ve probably climbed the stairs too many times today already, and my back and abdomen are suggesting that perhaps I park myself in a comfy chair for awhile. I have an appointment at the obstetrician’s office on Wednesday, so I will be eager to hear what she tells me about how I am recovering.

Mentally, like I said, I’m doing the best I can to just chill a little bit. I’m tired, as you’d probably expect. And I know that that’s only going to get worse before it gets better. The last couple of months of pregnancy were marked by extreme sleeplessness, so it’s not really that different now from those months. But a sleep deficit tends to only get worse over time as it builds up, so I know that I’m only going to get more tired. Luckily, at least I have the perspective from having one child already to know that eventually, my sweet little newborn with his perpetually empty tummy will learn to sleep for longer stretches of time, thus allowing me to sleep for longer stretches of time. Boy, I can’t wait for that!

And I am telling myself that it’s okay that I really don’t have the energy right now to send out queries to potential employers with pitches for stories. It’s okay to not peruse the freelance and journalism job boards online to see if there are any new gigs that appeal to me. It’s not a big deal that I don’t really feel like sitting down and making up a long list of potential story ideas for potential clients, or signing up for newsletters, or even deciding which professional organizations or services to join this year.

I do know that at some point, I want to join a couple of additional organizations because I think they could help me boost my prospects in the future. Perhaps the Editorial Freelancers Association? The American Medical Writers Association? Maybe talk the Association for Health Care Journalists into taking me back on, even though I don’t write for a regular newspaper or journal anymore? Sign up for MediaBistro’s special program AvantGuild? Something along those lines. But I think I will wait until I am a little less exhausted to get moving on those things. If I were working a regular (read: non-freelancer) job, I’d be on maternity leave, and I need to remind myself that the beauty of being a freelancer is flexibility. In this case, the flexibility allows me to stay home and be with my beautiful new baby son. And to take care of both of us in the meantime.

By the way, if you have a minute, please check out the story that I wrote for the national Presbyterian denomination magazine, Presbyterians Today: “Grandpa, Where’s Heaven?”. It’s the cover story! I may not be doing much, professionally speaking, this month, but hey, I do have a magazine cover story out this month.

About jenniferlarsonwrites

I'm a freelance writer and editor based in Nashville, Tennessee. I have a master's degree in journalism from the University of Maryland and a bachelor's degree in English from Rhodes College. I'm a born-and-bred Southerner who spent a few years in Southern California, a rabid baseball fan and a would-be grower of tomatoes. You can also visit me at LinkedIn or on Twitter at @JenniferLarson.
This entry was posted in Family, Freelancing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Postpartum musings on work

  1. Allena says:

    First, congrats on the bundle. I also had a csection. Wish I had milked it more.

    Second, I’ve got some great contracts from the EFA.

Leave a Reply

